World War II in the Pacific

My third week began with the exciting news that despite spending countless hours in the sun the previous weekend I shockingly had no sunburn at all.  Now unfortunately this makes the large bottle of Aloe Vera I had to cram into my suitcase quite useless but I am confident I will be in dire need of it at some point soon.  Going from an island paradise back to the office was quite a transition but I was able to take my first visit to the Human Nature factory which was very eye opening to the in’s and out’s of the companies production process.  We needed to do a finished goods stock count so my job at the factory revolved around checking that the physical stock counts we took matched up with the stock numbers that had been registered into the computer.  It was a long hot day of wearing a hairnet and a lab coat in the warehouse but at the end of the day it was satisfying to be all finished.

After work everyday I have been working out at a local Anytime Fitness to try and maintain my football playing weight.  I know if I were to show up to camp in August after having taken two months off from working out while constantly sweating off weight I would end up giving head football coach Norm Eash a heart attack.  I have been going there for all 3 weeks I have been set up here in Santa Rosa so the other patrons are finally getting used to seeing me there and the time I spend getting stared at while doing my warm-up stretches has gone down significantly which is quite nice haha.

This past weekend I met up with the other Human Nature intern as well as the interns working for FNRI and we took a cruise across Manila Bay to the island of Corregidor where we took a walking tour of the island.  For a little background information Corregidor is the perfect place for a military fortification as it guards the mouth of the bay and was thus occupied by the U.S. army during WWII until they were forced to surrender to Japan in 1942.  It was the last stronghold held by the U.S. in the Philippines and it was also the last stronghold held by the Japanese in the country in 1945 when it was finally recaptured.  The tour took us through the jungle to the remains of the military installations built by the U.S. and bombed heavily by the Japanese.  There was a very powerful feel about the whole military stronghold as many of the captured U.S. and Filipino troops then were forced to participate in the Bataan death march.  The island had incredible views of the bay atop the lighthouse at the head of the island and from the beaches.  It was a very cool trip that highlighted the vital role that the Philippines played in the Pacific theater of the Second World War.

 

Leave a Reply

